Faculty and Staff

During Winter quarter 2023, faculty will be holding both in person and virtual office hours. The Communication studies office will be open and staffed Monday through Friday. Please see below for staff contact information and hours. 

Winter Office Hours:                                                          

 

Directory

FACULTY MEMBER  OFFICE Location

 PHONE  

E-MAIL

Winter 202​​​​​3 Office hours

Department Chair

Dr. Lauren (Archer)

Kolodziejski

Department Chair

 Bldg. 47, Rm. 33B

(805)

756- 2957

lkolodzi@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Wednesday 1pm-3pm

Thursdays 9am -10am

In person bldg 47 rm 33

(Days and times same as above)

Also by appointment

Associate Chair

Dr. Bethany A. Conway

Associate Professor

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36D

(805)

756-2045

baconway@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Not Teaching Winter 2023

Faculty

Dr. Aubrie Adams

Assistant Professor

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36B

(805)

756-5997

aadams45@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday/Thursday 12pm - 2pm

Also by appointment 

Dr. David A. Askay

Associate Professor 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36A

(805)

756-2559

daskay@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

(By appointment)

In person bldg 47 rm 36A

Tuesday/Thursday 4pm -5 pm

Also by appointment (please email to schedule)

Dr. Jnan Blau

Associate Professor 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36P

(805)

756-2510

jablau@calpoly.edu

Office Hours: 

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday 2pm - 4pm

Wednesday 10am - 12pm

In person bldg 47 rm 36P

Wednesday 10am - 12pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Darrian Carroll

Assistant Professor

Bldg. 47, Rm. 22F

(805)

756-5369

drcarrol@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 47 rm 22F

Tuesday/Thursday 12pm - 1:30pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Alison Yeh Cheung

Assistant Professor

 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 22E   acheun33@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Thursday 10am - 11am

In person bldg 47 rm 22E

Monday/Wednesday 10am-11am

Also by appointment

Dr. Sara Jo Daubert

Lecturer

Bldg. 3, Rm. 333

 

sdaubert@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Not teaching in COMS Winter 2023

Dr. Anuraj Dhillon

Assistant Professor

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36R

(805)

756-2650

adhill06@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Wednesday 10:10am-12pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Bernard K. Duffy

Emeritus Professor

Bldg. 47, Rm 36C

(805)

756-2349

bduffy@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Tuesday 11:15am-12pm

In person bldg 47 rm 36C

Monday/Tuesday 11:15am-12pm 

Also by appointment

Patrick Frisco

Lecturer 

Bldg46TRm104

(805)

756-5361

pfrisco@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info (by appointment

scheduled during In-person office hours)

In person bldg 46T rm 104

Monday/Wednesday 10:10am -11am

Also by appointment

Dr. Marion Hart

Lecturer, WLC & COMS 

Bldg. 22, Rm. 318

(805)

756-1231

mhart03@calpoly.edu

Office Hours: 

In person bldg 22 rm 318

Tuesday/Thursday 2:10pm-4pm

Friday by appointment

Dr. Nancie J. Hudson

Lecturer 

Bldg. 74M, B107

(805)

756-2576

njhudson@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom & email @ COMS info 

Monday/Wednesday 4pm - 5pm (email)

Friday 1pm - 2pm (Zoom)

Also by appointment

Laura Ann Hunkler

Lecturer 

    lhunkler@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Fridays 10am-11am

Dr. Lorraine Jackson

Associate Professor 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36M

(805)

756-2463

ljackson@calpoly.edu

Office Hours: 

Virtual via FaceTime @ COMS info

Tuesday/Thursday 12pm-2pm

Also by appointment

Ruth Kalin

Lecturer, WGS & COMS
Bldg. 46T, Rm. 103

(805)

756-7552

rakalin@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 46T rm 103

Tuesday/Wednesday 12pm - 2pm

Leah (Katona)Ransom

Lecturer 

 

(805)

756-2529

lkatona@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Not teaching Winter 2023

Dr. Christina Kaviani

Lecturer, COMS & WGS

Bldg. 34, Rm. 238 (805) 756-2554 ckaviani@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 34 rm 238

(You can also find me outside the Dexter building on the cement tables)

Monday/Wednesday 12pm - 1pm

Also by appointment

Lisa Kawamura

Lecturer 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 21E

(805)

756-2569

lkawamur@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Wednesday 7:10am - 8am

Rebecca Laidlaw

Lecturer 

Bldg. 52 Rm. E24-D

(805)

756-2343

rlaidlaw@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom 

Available in Canvas course for registered students only

Monday/Wednesday 8:10am - 10am

Also by appointment

Dr. Megan Lambertz-Berndt

Associate Professor 

Bldg. 47, Rm36E

(805)

756-5341

lambertz@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday 10am -11am & 12pm -1pm

Wednesday 1pm -2pm

Also by appointment

Alexa Loken

Lecturer 

Bldg. 34, Rm. 238   aloken@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

(Days and times same as below)

In person bldg 34 rm 238

Monday 2pm - 3pm

Also by appointment

Martin Mehl

Lecturer 

Bldg. 22, Rm. 316

(805)

756-2583

mmehl@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 22 rm 316

Monday/Wednesday 4:10pm-6pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Vincent Meserko

Lecturer 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36C

(805)

756-2349

vmeserko@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 47 rm 36C

Monday/Wednesday 11am -12pm

Tuesday 1pm -2pm 

Also by appointment

Dr. Leslie Nelson

Assistant Professor 

Bldg. 47, Rm 36N

(805)

756-2809

lrnelson@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday 12pm - 2pm & 3pm- 4pm

Also by appointment

Frank Nolan

Emeritus 

Bldg. 46T, Rm. 101

(805)

756-2869

fnolan@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Monday/Wednesday 12:10pm-1pm

(Please see Canvas page)

Danielle O'Leary

Lecturer

Bldg. 34, Rm. 238

(805)

756-2529

dnoleary@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday 9:30am -11:30am

Also by appointment

Dr. John Patrick

Co-director of Forensics Program 

Bldg. 22, Rm. 316

(805)

756-2583

jopatric@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday-Thursday 11am-12pm

Also by appointment

Brooke-Ashley Lipson Pool

Lecturer

Bldg. 22, Rm. 316   blipson@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 22 rm 316

Monday/Wednesday 2pm-3pm

Also by appointment

Christopher Skiles

Co-director of Forensics Program 

Bldg. 22, Rm. 300

(805)

756-2202

cskiles@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Email 

(Days and times same as below)

In person bldg 22 rm 318 & 300

Monday/Wednesday 1:10pm-2pm 

Also by appointment

(virtual or in person)

Dr. Jodie Steele

Lecturer

Bldg. 46T,  Rm. 104   jsteel01@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday 11:30am - 12:30pm

In person bldg 46T rm 104

Monday 2pm -3pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Maria Subert

Lecturer

Bldg 46T, Rm. 102   msubert@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 46T rm 102

Monday 10am -12pm

Tuesday/Thursday 11:15am -1:15pm

Also by appointment

Jeremy Teitelbaum

Lecturer 

Bldg. 46TRm. 101

(805)

756-2869

jteitelb@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 46T rm 101

Monday-Thurday 1:00pm - 1:50pm

Also by appointment

Lori Temko

Lecturer

Bldg. 46t, Rm. 103

(805)

756-5683

 ltemko@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 46T rm 103

Tuesday/Thursday 10:00am-12:00pm

Also by appointment (via Zoom @ COMS info)

Nina Truch

Lecturer 

Bldg. 46TRm. 102

(805)

756-5683

ntruch@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Friday 2pm - 3pm

In person bldg 46t Rm 102

Monday 12:15pm - 1:20pm

Tuesday 11:15pm-12:30pm

Also by appointment

Sheree Twisselman Davis

Lecturer 

Bldg74M, Rm. B107

(805)

756-2576

stwissel@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Wednesday 9am-10am

In person bldg 74M Rm B107

Tuesday/Thursday 11am-12pm (also available via Zoom @ these times)

Friday 9am-10am by email

Also by appointment

Alana Vieira

Lecturer 

    mpvieira@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Tuesday/Thursday 2:30pm-3:30pm

Amy Ward

Lecturer 

Bldg46TRm. 103

(805)

756-7552

award10@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 46T Rm 103

Monday/Thursday 4pm - 6pm

Also by appointment

Joseph Whitt

Lecturer

Bldg. 47, Rm. 35F    jwhitt@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Wednesday 1pm-3pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Ritch Woffinden

Lecturer 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 36Q

(805)

756-5683

cwoffind@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

Monday/Wednesday 12pm-1pm

Tuesday/Thursday 11am-12pm

Also by appointment

Dr. Victoria Zamora

Lecturer

 Bldg. 47, Rm. 22G

(805)

756-2553

ezamor12@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

Virtual via Zoom @ COMS info

(Days and times same as below)

In person bldg 47 rm 22G

Tuesday/Thursday 2pm - 3:30pm

Also by appointment

Staff

Rabia Shahbaz

Administrative Coordinator 

Bldg. 47, Rm. 33A

(805)

756-2554

rshahbaz@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person bldg 47 rm33

Virtual

Jen Owen

ASA II

Bldg. 47, Rm. 33C

(805)

756-2553

jowen01@calpoly.edu

Office Hours:

In person Coms dept bldg 47 rm33

Monday 8am-4:30pm

Tuesday 8am-12pm

In person GRC dept bldg 26 rm 201

Tuesday 12:30pm-4:30pm

Wednesday 8:00am-4:30pm 

Virtual via email or Zoom 

Thursday/Friday 

 Emeriti Faculty

Dr. James Conway        
Dr. Jon Ericson        
Dr. Michael Fahs        
Dr. Steven McDermott        
Dr. Keith Nielsen        
Dr. Harry Sharp hsharp@calpoly.edu      
Dr. B. Christine Shea

cshea@calpoly.edu

     
Erma Stauffer estauffe@calpoly.edu      
Dr. Terrence C. Winebrenner twinebre@calpoly.edu      
Dr. Raymond Zeuschner rzeuschn@calpoly.edu      

Related Content