Coms Students and Faculty Honored at Virtual Banquet

Communication Studies Department students and faculty gathered together via Zoom from the comfort of their homes on Thursday, June 4, 2020, to celebrate the end of an unconventional year and recognize student achievements. Although this event is typically held in-person in the form of an annual banquet, this year the event was hosted completely online. 

Creatively organized around the limitations presented due to the nature of the situation, Communication Studies students Ciara Thompson and Zoe Jessup put this virtual banquet together for their senior project. The banquet not only served as an opportunity to recognize the many outstanding accomplishments of students and faculty in the major, but also as a meaningful way to connect in a difficult and uncertain time. 


The following Communication Studies students were honored this year:

Outstanding Senior Award: 
Kylie Clark

Academic Excellence Award:
Kylie Clark
Ciara Thompson
Jade Sigmund
Jordan Wiley 

Outstanding Service Award:
Allie Blaising

Recognition of Service Award: 
Alyssa Manno
Kylie Clark
Jade Sigmund
Campbell Warren
Hannah Williams

Recognition for CSU Symposium:
2nd place McCall Award for Best Undergraduate Paper
Alayna Short (presenter)
Sophia Minhas (presenter)
Jordan Bernal (paper)
Yasminh Lu (paper)

Recognition for Involvement with Undergraduate Research:
Allison Blaising
Karlie McGillis
Christina La Vine
Nolan Taylor
Grace Trotta
Julianna Quihuiz
Jade Sigmund
Jackson Reynosa
Shelby Wong
Ciara Thompson
Kylie Clark
Drew Gilmore

Visionary Student Award:
Dallas Fatseas

The debate team Captain:
Rory Dinkins

English Debater of the Year:
Julian Rice

Spanish Debater of the Year:
Izzy Watson

The Terry Winebrenner Award:: 
Parker Swanson

The following Communication Studies faculty were honored this year:

Outstanding Educator Award in Major Classes
Dr. Leslie Nelson (Student Success Award)
Dr. Jnan Blau (Holistic Support Award)
Dr. Lauren Kolodziejski (Faculty Role Model of the Year)

Outstanding Educator Award in General Education Classes
Mr. Martin Mehl
Ms. Erma Stauffer

Related Content