Coms Awards & Recognitions Celebrated at Virtual Banquet

Communication Studies Department students and faculty gathered together via Zoom on Thursday, May 27, 2021, to celebrate the end of the year and recognize student achievements. Organized by members of the Communication Studies Club, the banquet serve as an opportunity to meaningfully connect while also recognizing the many outstanding accomplishments of students in the major. 

The following Communication Studies students & faculty were recognized this year:

Recognition of Coms Club Officers:

  • Presidents: Shelby Wong & Michelle Pineda
  • Treasurer & Program Director: Chelsie Lui
  • Secretary: Anika Maney
  • Public Relations Chair: Samantha McKinley
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Megan Lambertz-Berndt

Recognition of Lambda Pi Eta Officers:

  • President: Audrey MacDonald
  • Vice President: Chelsie Lui
  • Treasurer: Reagan Kniffen
  • Social media: Anika Maney & Julianna Quihuiz
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Aubrie Adams

Recognition of Cal Poly Research & Conference Presentations

  • Sydney Ashworth
  • Sonoma Bates
  • Stephanie Best
  • Berkly Hargon
  • Katherine Holmes
  • Emerson Hughes
  • Delaney Hulshof
  • Caitlin Lee
  • Chelsie Lui
  • Anika Maney
  • Annie Margolis
  • Corey Quillen

Recognition of Service to Department, University, & Community

  • Jasmine Buerano
  • Madison Gann
  • Reagan Kniffin
  • Anika Maney
  • Amanda Smith
  • Alison Viggiano

COMS Academic Excellence Awards:

Exceptional GPAs of 3.9+

  • Anika Maney
  • Emerson Hughes
  • Caitlin Lee
  • Matia Mathes

COMS Outstanding Service Awards:

Exceptional involvement in service activities

  • Lauren Buckley (Community)
  • Chelsie Lui (Coms Department)

Visionary Student Awards

Create a culture that promotes critical consciousness, empathy, and collaboration through communication in personal, professional, and civic contexts

  • Julianna Quihuiz
  • Frederick Gaines
  • Matia Mathes

CLA Academic Excellence Award:

  • Anika Maney

COMS Outstanding Senior Award:

  • Anika Maney

Outstanding Educator Award in General Education Classes

  • Dr. Nancie J. Hudson

Related Content